Composite image of various TGIF projects

Fall 2021 TGIF Grant Cycle Deadline:  Monday, November 1 @ 5:00pm Apply Now!

Join the TGIF Committee

Join the TGIF Committee and become a force for sustainable change at UC Davis, while developing yourself as a professional and a leader

Application deadline for the 2021-22 TGIF Committee is April 23, 2021 @ 5pm

About the TGIF Committee

TGIF Committee Member Responsibilities 

  •  Commitment: 5-10 hours per week, including weekly meeting
  • Weekly meetings occur 12:00-1:00pm on Wednesdays or according to Committee availability
  • Full Academic Year commitment, with potential for monthly meetings during summer quarter
  • Must occupy two available TGIF roles, e.g. serving on subcommittees or in a leadership position

Access the 2021-22 TGIF Application

The Green Initiative Fund (TGIF) Committee is a majority undergraduate committee that steward the student fee funded TGIF grant fund. This grant fund has typically awarded $100,000 to $200,000 each academic year. The TGIF Committee welcomes applications from students in all majors and seeks to build a collegial team that represents the diversity of the UC Davis campus while making wise use of student funds to support projects across the full spectrum of campus sustainability.

The TGIF Committee reads and evaluates submitted grant proposals and decides on awards; provides guidance and project management oversight to funded projects; conducts campus outreach to spread word of TGIF funds; works with the TGIF Grant Manager to administer the TGIF funds; and works in subcommittees and conducts weekly full committee meetings during the academic year to accomplish the work of the Committee.

Students are appointed to the Committee by an application process developed by the 2017-18 TGIF Committee and staff in the UC Davis Sustainability office. The majority of the Committee’s voting seats are held by undergraduate students, with up to two graduate students. The Committee’s appointed members include a staff member (voting seat), a faculty member (voting seat), an ASUCD Environmental Policy and Planning Commission representative (ex-officio), a student representative from the Committee on Student Activities and Fees (ex-officio), the Director of Sustainability (ex-officio), and the Student Engagement Program Manager (staff to the Committee).

Why join the TGIF Committee? 

  • Professional Development

    • Interacting with UC Davis students, faculty, and staff at various stages of the proposal development and project implementation process allows TGIF Committee members to develop valuable communication, outreach, organization, and leadership skills. Each TGIF Committee member has the opportunity to regularly practice and develop these valuable transferable skills in a supportive environment. 
  • Career Preparation

    • TGIF offers students an opportunity to begin learning the skills to develop and manage grants while enrolled. Students who serve on the TGIF Committee gain valuable experience evaluating grant proposals, managing an approximately $200,000 fund, and serving on a committee with a formal voting process.

      Scientists, engineers, social scientists, and non-profit organizations all need money to support their work, and they often seek grant funding for that purpose.  Students who graduate with grant writing and/or management experience are better positioned for graduate school and for future grant-intensive research and/or academic careers; as well as careers as Program Officers or Analysts at state agencies, in private consulting firms, at federal agencies such as the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the National Institutes for Health (NIH), and at private foundations such as Moore, Hewlett, or Gates.


TGIF seeks up to nine students, majority undergraduates, as voting members through our application process. Students may come from any major, must be enrolled as either part- or full-time students during their membership year, and are asked to serve for a full academic year. All voting members may serve no more than two consecutive terms. Criteria for selection of student committee members may include evaluation of student's academic standing. Both undergraduates and graduate students are welcome to apply. 

TGIF endorses the UC Davis Principles of Community and is committed to cultivating and maintaining a diverse and inclusive collaborative working environment. The Committee values the richness that diverse perspectives contribute and invites applications from individuals of all backgrounds.


Each voting student member of the TGIF Committee will receive a stipend of $250.00 per academic quarter.

How to Apply

Please direct any questions regarding this application form or process to

Access the 2021-22 Application 

TGIF Leadership Roles & Subcommittees

In addition to general Committee duties and attending weekly Committee meetings (noon - 1pm on Wednesdays every week), each Committee member is required to serve on at least one sub-committee or in at least one leadership role.

TGIF Committee Leadership Roles include:

  • Co-Chairs - Run the committee meetings in accordance with a relaxed version of Roberts Rules of Order, and develop agendas, in coordination and collaboration with Grant Manager.
  • Secretary - Maintain current TGIF bylaws, record suggested updates throughout the year, provide suggested updates to the full TGIF Committee in spring quarter for discussion and adoption by the full Committee, post current or readopted bylaws. Prepare for fee renewal referendum, in coordination and collaboration with Grant Manager. Attend weekly ESSC meetings as a TGIF representative. Provide back-up for taking meeting minutes, in the event the Grant Manager is unable to do so. 
  • Treasurer - Report on TGIF finances, in coordination and collaboration with Grant Manager. Meet with grant awardees at project start to ensure awardee understanding of and compliance with fiscal guidelines. Review budget proposals thoroughly to ensure accurate calculations.


TGIF Subcommittees include: 

  • Social Media, Outreach, & Marketing - Creatively promote and raise awareness of TGIF across campus through a wide variety of methods, activities, events, and other means.  Manage TGIF social media accounts to represent and raise awareness about TGIF, share highlights and progress updates of awarded TGIF projects. Cultivate and maintain a consistent TGIF brand and message, design outreach materials, and assist in preparation for ASUCD fee renewal referendum. 
  • Grant Application Advising - The goal of this subcommittee is to assist applicants in developing strong grant proposals. Responsibilities may include holding grant workshops to present information about TGIF and the grant application process; holding office hours to answer questions from prospective applicants and provide advice for writing a strong proposal; reaching out to UC Davis student organizations to promote awareness of TGIF and the grant application process; and working with the Marketing/Outreach/Social Media subcommittee to advertise the services provided by the Grant Application Advising subcommittee.
  • Grant Project ManagementProvide project management support to granted projects to ensure each project fulfills all reporting requirements, follows projected timelines, and complies with budget goals. Serve as Project Liaison for 5-8 projects and check in 2-3 times per quarter with each assigned project. Act as first point of contact for each project and share any relevant updates with the rest of the committee.
  • Committee Membership - Manage TGIF Committee membership application process, in coordination and collaboration with Grant Manager. Help set up “shadowing” for spring quarter. Must be a part of interviewing process.